Brewing activity at the “Appelhock” in Melle dates back to 1654.
In 1902, Leon Huyghe settled in Melle and four years later he purchased the brewery which he named “Brouwerij-Mouterij den Appel”. The brewery survived the First World War, which many breweries did not. As a tribute, there is a copper brewing kettle from the period hanging above the bar in the museum as a decorative dome.
In 1938, the name of the brewery was changed to “SPRL Brasserie Leon Huyghe”. Following the name change in 1939, new buildings along the Geraardsbersensteenweg were completed. They are still the pride of the brewery, for they house the brewery hall.
During 1985 the brewery underwent a massive restructuring and philosophical brewing change. The most noteable was the change from bottom fermentation to top fermentation and the introduction of high alcohol ales. The first two beers of this style were released in 1985 and 1987, Artevelde and Artevelde Grand Cru.
On December 26th 1989 Delirium Tremens was born. The beer develops its unique taste from the use of three different kinds of yeast. Delirium Tremens went on to win several awards including a nomination as “the best beer in the World” in 1997 and a gold medal win at the World Beer Championships in Chicago in 1998.